Grinnell Award Committee

Committee Members: B. Coyner, G. Feldhamer, M. Matocq, B. Pasch, J. Rachlow (Chair), P. D. Sudman, R. Terry, B. Timm, and P. Zollner.

Mission:

The purpose of this committee is to solicit nominations for the Joseph Grinnell Award and select a nominee to forward to the ASM Board of Directors for consideration. The Joseph Grinnell Award honors individuals who have made outstanding and sustained contributions to education in mammalogy over a period of at least 10 years.

Information Items:

(1) In Spring 2020, the committee reviewed application materials, chose the nominee, and forwarded the nomination to the ASM Officers and Board of Directors for their consideration. With approval of the Board, the award recipient, Dr. Thad Theimer, was announced online due to the cancellation of the 2020 meeting. Dr. Theimer will give a plenary presentation during the 2021 virtual meeting.

(2) Because the 2020 meeting was cancelled, the Grinnell Awardee from 2019, Dr. Donald Kaufman, also will speak during a plenary session of the 2021 virtual meeting.

(3) In Spring 2021, the committee evaluated nomination materials, selected the nominee for the 2021 Grinnell Award, and forwarded the nomination to President Kelt and the ASM Board of Directors. The recipient will be announced at the first ever virtual meeting of the ASM in June 2021.

Action Items:

(1) Budget request of \$350.00 to produce the Grinnell Award plaque.

Respectfully submitted,

Janet Rachlow, Chair (jrachlow@uidaho.edu)